Marialuisa Lavitrano - Unimib
Marialuisa Lavitrano – Unimib

Marialuisa Lavitrano has been elected Director following a nomination supported by the University of Milano-Bicocca, the CNR, GARR (the Italian Mandated Organization), ICDI and by several Universities, Research Infrastructures and Network Organization across Europe.

Marialuisa Lavitrano, full professor of Pathology at the University of Milano-Bicocca, said: “It is an honour to be elected as one of the Directors of the EOSC Association and to be part of the Board. I’m eager to contribute as much as I can to steer the activities of the Association in accordance with its aims, mission and strategic objectives. I’m proud to be part of the EOSC Community: indeed, a paradigm shift is needed in the way we are doing and managing science today. During my mandate, I wish to serve civil society and contribute to the cause of European Science. I offer my

The European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) is an environment for hosting and processing research data to support EU science. The process to create the EOSC was initiated by the Commission in 2015. It aimed to develop a trusted, virtual, federated environment that cuts across borders and scientific disciplines to store, share, process and re-use digital research objects (like publications, data, and software) following FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable) principles.

Marialuisa Lavitrano is also the Director of Molecular Medicine Lab and the Director of the Residential Program in Oncology at the University of Milano-Bicocca where she was pro-rector for International Affairs for eight years (2006–2013). She is the Director of EMMRI – the Executive Masters in Management of Research Infrastructures – and the Director of, the Italian National Node of BBMRI-ERIC.

Marialuisa Lavitrano’s mandate starts in December 2020, and its term is for three years. Here an overview of the Lavitrano’s career.

Marialuisa Lavitrano has been elected as one of the eight Directors of the EOSC Association during its first General Assembly